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COURT INSTRUCTIONS OF THE INDEPENDENT ADMINISTRATOR  

OF AN INTESTATE ESTATE 

 

As the duly appointed Independent Administrator of this estate, you are hereby advised by the 

Court that you must comply with the following statutory requirements: 

 

1. File your Oath within 20 days after the date of the order granting Letters of 

Independent Administration.  This is a mandatory requirement.  Sec. 305.052, Estates 

Code. 

 

2. If ordered by the Court, file the Bond within 20 days after the date of the order 

granting Letters of Independent Administration.  This is mandatory requirement in those 

cases where a bond has been ordered by the Court.  Sec. 305.101, Estates Code. 

 

3. File your Application for Resident Agent within 20 days after the date of the order if 

you do not reside in Texas.  Sec. 304.003(3)(b)(ii), Estates Code. 

 

4. Issue Notice to Creditors as follows (these are mandatory requirements):  

 

a. Notice to unsecured creditors is required within 1 month after receiving Letters 

of Independent Administration.  Notice is given by publishing the notice one time 

in a newspaper of general circulation in the county where the letters are issued.  

Publisher’s affidavit showing date of publication shall be filed with the clerk.  Sec. 

308.051, Estates Code. 

b. Notice to secured creditors is required within 2 months after receiving Letters of 

Independent Administration.  Notice is given by certified or registered mail, return 

receipt requested, at the creditors’ last known address.  The Administrator’s Affidavit 

of Notice to Secured Creditors, along with copies of each notice mailed with certified 

mail return receipt, shall be filed with the clerk.  Sec. 308.053, Estates Code. 

c. Notice to Comptroller of Public Accounts by certified mail is required if decedent 

paid or owed taxes administered by the Comptroller.  Copy of notice with certified 

mail return receipt shall be filed with the clerk.  Sec. 308.051, Estates Code. 

 

5. File an Inventory, Appraisement and List of Claims of the Estate within 90 days of 

qualification (filing of oath and bond, as applicable) as required in Sec. 309.051 of the 

Texas Estates Code.  This is a mandatory requirement.  Failure to file an inventory, 

appraisement and list of claims within 90 days of qualification or any extension 

granted by the Court may result in an Order to Show Cause and/or revocation of letters 

and a fine not to exceed $1,000.00.  Sec. 309.057, Estates Code. 

 



6. When assets have been distributed to the beneficiaries, you may, if you wish, file a 

Closing Affidavit or a Motion and Order to Close the Estate, attaching receipts from the 

beneficiaries, if all estate business has been completed and six months has elapsed since 

the estate was opened.  Chap. 405, Estates Code. 

 

7. Consult with your attorney on any matter regarding this estate you do not understand.  

Failure to comply with the mandatory requirements of the Texas Estates Code may 

result in penalties up to and including revocation of letters of appointment or other 

penalties as provided by statute. 

 

                                                  

JUDGE CURTIS PARRISH 

Lubbock County Court 

Lubbock County, Texas 
 

 

 I, __________________________________________ the duly appointed Independent 

Administrator of the above referenced estate, hereby attest that I have received a copy of the 

Instructions. 

 

 

Date       Signature        
            Independent Administrator  

  


