DEBT CASE INFORMATION FOR DEFENDANTS

You have been sued for a debt you allegedly owe. You have the right to contest
the action. You must file a written answer within 14 days, an adverse judgment is
likely to be entered against you. An answer form [S PROVIDED TO YQU ON PAGE 2
BELOW.

When you file an answer {SEE ANSWER FORM ON THIS PAGE), your case will
automatically be referred for MEDIATION. There is no cost for MEDIATION.

You may reject mediation and go directly to trial by Judge or jury if you wish. A
$22 fee must be sent to the Court with a jury request,

The person filing against you must prove you owe the debt. You have the right to
dispute it.

RESOURCES
Northwest Texas Legal Aid: 1-888-529-5277

Texas Law help website for information or forms: https://texaslawhelp.org/

QOCA information on representing yourself; hitps://www.txcourts.gov/programs-
services/self-help/self-represented-litigants/

Forms in Spanish- htips!//www.tictc.org/ftictc-resources/forms/spanish-forms.htmil

The Lubbock County Law library is located in the Lubbock County Courthouse
annex at 916 Main, Suite 306 (3™ floor). The law librarian, Nan Campbell, can be
reached at (806)775-1667.

Judge Jim Hansen

Physical Address- 904 Broadway, Room 110 Lubbock, Texas
Mailing Address- P.O. Box 10536, Lubbock, Texas 79408
Civil Division phone {806) 775-1549 or {805) 775-1550



ANSWER FORM for case number

§ IN THE JUSTICE COURT
PLAINTIFF §
V. § PRECINCT NQ. 1
§
DEFENDANT § LUBBOCK COUNTY, TEXAS

DEFENDANT'S ANSWER {SMALL CLAIMS OR DEBT CLAIM CASE)

This Answer is made by Defendant , who further answers as
follows {You may write | AGREE, or state the reasans you DISAGREE and describe other defenses, if any):

(you may write on the reverse side if you need more space)

D 1 hereby censent or 1 do net consent to email service of all motions, pleadings or other
documents filed in this case to be sent to my email address as follows:

Defendant requests that the Court enter judgment for Defendant, award Defendant’s costs and for
such other and further relief to which Defendant may prove to be justly entitled.

Signature of Defendant Signature of Attorney, if any
Printed Name: Printed Name:
Address: Address:

Telephone: Telephone:

Fax: Fax:

State Bar No.:

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
| hereby certify that a copy of this Answer was served on the Plaintiff on the day of ,
20 , pursuant to Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 501.4 by:
Personal delivery
Mail
Fax
Emaitl {if both parties have agreed in writing and provided an email address)
Another method approved by the court:

OOoOonon

Defendant's Signature



DEBT CLAIM CASES

For those filing DEBT CLAIM cases, be aware that the 500-507 series of rules can be
located under the SMALL CLAIMS on this website. It is essential they be read if you are
planning to file a DEBT CLAIM cases. The Rules of Civil Procedure and Rules of
Evidence DO NOT APPLY to DEBT CASES unless specifically referenced in Rules

Piaintif__fs can na longer seek a Judgment under Rule 83. Imbedded omissions are no
ionger allowed and will be stricken, and parties who continue to file petitions with
imbedded omissions may face sanctions.

All discovery must be approved by the court (SEE Rule 500.9).

RULE 508.1. APPLICATION

Rule 508 applies to a claim for the recovery of a debt brought by an assignee of a claim, a
financial institution, a debt collector or collection agency, or a person or entity primarily
engaged in the business of lending money at interest.

RULE 508.2. PETITION
{a) Contents. In addition to the information required by Rule 5G2.2, a petition filed in a Jawsuit
governed hy this rule must contain the following information:

{1} Credit Accounts. In a claim based upon a credit card, revolving credit, or open
account, the petition must state;
{A} the account or card name;
(B} the account number {which may be masked);
(C) the date of issue or origination of the account, if known;
{D) the date of charge-off or breach of the account, if known;
{E} the amount owed as of a date certain; and

{F) whether the plaintiff seeks ongoing interest.
{Note from ludge- more imfarmation wilt be necessary to obtain interest)

{2} Personal and Business Loans. [n a claim based upon a promissory note or other
promise to pay a specific amount as of a date certain, the petition must state:
{A) the date and amount of the original loan;
{B} whether the repayment of the debt was accelerated, if knowr;
{C) the date final payment was due;
{D} the amount due as of the final payment date;



{E) the amount owed as of a date certain; and
{F) whether plaintiff seeks ongoing interest.

{3) Ongoing Interest. If a plaintiff seeks ongoing interest, the petition must state:
{A} the effective interest rate claimed;
{B) whether the interest rate is based upon contract or statute; and
{C) the dollar amount of interest claimed as of a date certain.

{4} Assigned Debt. If the deht that is the subject of the claim has been assigned or
transferred, the petition must state:
{A) that the debt claim has been transferred or assigned;
{B} the date of the transfer ar assignment;

{C) the name of any prior holders of the debt; and

{D} the name or a description of the original creditor.

RULE 508.3, DEFAULT JUDGMENT

{a) Generolly. If the defendant does not file an answer to a ¢clalm by the answer date or
othérwise appear in the case, the judge must promptly render a default judgment upon the
plaintiff’s proof of the amount of damages.

(b} Proof of the Amount of Damages.

{1} Evidence Must Be Served or Submitted. Evidence of plaintiff's damages must either be
attached to the petition and served on the defendant or submitted to the court after
defendant’s failure to answer by the answer date.

{2} Form of Evidence. Evidence of plaintiff’s damages may be offered in a sworn statement
or in live testimony. The evidence offered may include documentary evidence.

(3} Establishment of the Amount of Damages. The amount of damages is established by

evidence;

(A) that the account or toan was issued to the defendant and the defendant Is
obligated to pay it;

{B) that the account was closed or the defendant breached the terms of the account or
loan agreement;

(C) of the amount due on the account or loan as of a date certain after alf payment
credits and offsets have been applied; and

{D) that the plaintiff owns the account or loan and, if applicable, how the plaintiff
acquired the account or foan.

{4) Documentary Evidence Offered By Sworn Statement. Documentary evidence may be
considered if it is attached ta a sworn statement made by the plaintiff or its
representative, a prior holder of the debt or its representative, or the griginal creditor or




its representative, that attests to the following:

{A} the documents were kept in the regular course of business;

{B} it was the regular course of business for an employee or representative with
knowledge of the act recorded to make the record or to transmit information to be
included in such record;

{C} the documents were created at or near the time or reasonably soon thereafter; and

{D} the documents attached are the original or exact duplicates of the original.

{5) Consideration of Sworn Staterent. A judge is not required to accept a sworn
statement if the source of informaticn or the method or circumstances of preparation
indicate fack of trustworthiness. But a judge may not reject a sworn statement only
because it is not made by the original creditor or because the documents attested to
were created by a third party and subsequently incorporated into and relied upon by the
business of the plalntiff.

{c) Hearing. The judge may enter a default judgment without a hearing if the plaintiff submits
sufficient written evidence of its damages and should da so to avoid undue expense and
delay, Otherwise, the plaintiff may request a default judgment hearing at which the plaintiff
must appear, in person or by telephonic or electronic means, and prove its damages. If the
plaintiff proves its damages, the judge must render judgment for the plaintiff in the amount
proven. If the plaintiff is unable to prove its damages, the judge must render judgment in
favor of the defendant.

(d} Appearance. If the defendant files an answer or otherwise appears in a case before a default
judgment is signed by the judge, the judge must not render a default judgment and must set
the case for trial.

(e} Post-Answer Default. If a defendant who has answered fails to appear for trial, the court
may proceed to hear evidence on liability and damages and render judgment accordingly.



