Texas Unclaimed Property Fast Facts

What is unclaimed property?
The Texas unclaimed property law requires financlal institutions, businesses and government enfities to report
to the state any personal property they are holding that is considered abandonsd or unclaimed after a one- to

five-year time period.

Unclaimed property ¢can come from:
* dividend, payroll ar cashier's checks
*+ stocks, mutual fund accounts, bonds
»  utility deposits and other refunds
* bank accounts and safety deposit bax contents
* insurance proceeds
* mineral interest ar royaity payments
+ court deposits, trust funds, escrow accounts
* overpaymenis on insurance, utility and other bilis

Fast Facts:

-

There is currently about $3.8 billion in the unclaimed property program.

Comptroller Susan Combs has returned over $1 billion t¢ unclaimed property owners since taking
office in January 2007. Unclaimed property payments began in 1962, and approximately $300.8
million was returned in the 44 ysars prior to Combs taking office.

in fiscal 2013, Texas returned mare than $180 million to its rightful cwners.
The average claim is more than $1,000.
We estimate that one aut of every four Texans has unclzimed property.

In some cases, a property can be considered abandoned and reported io the state in only one
year.

The Texas Unclaimed Property Division originated in 1962: the online searchable database was
created in December 1998,

Unclaimed Property Outreach has generated over $100 milticn in ciaims by helping Texans
search for their names on www.ClaimitTexas.org at events and other outreach activities over the
last fours years.

Texas taw has no statuie of limitations on unclaimed property. This property afways belongs to its
owners or their iegal heir(s).

You can also search to see if your business has unclaimed property at www,Claimi{Texas.org.

it takes about one minute to find out if you have unclaimed property listed in the database and
only a few minutes to file your claim.

The unclaimed property database is updated on a daily basis. You should search for unclaimed
property every three months. Remember, you can have unclaimed property more than once.

The Texas Comptrolier of Public Accounts will process original awner claims in 60 io 80 days
after receipt, if no additional information is needed. If you do not have all of the requested
documentation, you can still sign and mail in a claim form with what documenitation you have, and
your ciaim can still be approved.

If you have lived in states other than Texas, you can search www.missingmoney.com for
unclaimed property.

The largest claim Texas has paid out was nearly $4.3 million, paid in 1996 to a Dailas resident.

If you do not have Internet access, you can use the computers at your local library fo search your
name at www.ClaimltTexas.orqg, or call 1-B00-654- FIND {3463).

Texans are encouraged to “Come and Get It and visit www.ClaimlitTexas.org.
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