
EVICTION INSTRUCTIONS (Please read carefully) 

Every new eviction filing requires three documents: an Original Petition, a Justice Court Civil 
Case Information Sheet, and a Serviceman’s Civil Relief Act affidavit. All three are included 
under the EVICTIONS DOCUMENTS link on this website. Once completed, bring the three 
documents to our office. 
 
You also have the option to email bdills@lubbockcounty.gov and jrichins@lubbockcounty.gov 
and request “Eviction documents in WORD”IF your case is in JP1. 
 

1) Evictions must be filed in the proper Justice of the Peace Court. Redistricting is 
underway in 2021 and the LINES HAVE CHANGED! Be sure to double check your 
address/J.P. precinct! A map is available on the JP1 website, and maps are in each 
Justice of the Peace office.  

2) Your property must be properly marked with the physical address assigned by the 911 
emergency address system or the appraisal district. If your property is not clearly 
marked, the Constable will return the eviction citation un-served and you will have to 
start over. Location can be posted by numbers on the building proper or by numbers 

             located on a sign posted in front of the property. 
 
By law you must give a NOTICE TO VACATE before you can file an EVICTION SUIT. The landlord 
must give the tenant at least 3 days written notice to vacate before filing this eviction, unless 
the lease signed by both parties states otherwise. Chapter 24 of the TEXAS PROPERTY CODE 
contains information about the Notice to vacate, and other important information on evictions. 
The NOTICE TO VACATE must be in writing and comply with Section 24.005 and can be found 
on the LAW LIBRARY link on the main page of the JP1 website. A defective Notice to Vacate can 
result in dismissal of your suit. 
 
The cost for filing an eviction can be paid by check, credit card, or EXACT CASH. Please contact 
our office at (806) 775-1549 or (806) 775-1550 to get the exact cost. It is a requirement of law 
that EACH PERSON named in the lease be served with citation. 
 
JOINING A SUIT FOR RENT: A suit for rent may be joined with the eviction suit, if the amount 
due is within the jurisdiction of this court. ($20,000.00). You CANNOT SUE for damages, late 
charges, utilities, or other charges in an eviction, but you may pursue those damages in a 
separate small claims suit. 
 
5) Your hearing date will be set approximately two weeks out from the day you file. The burden 
of proof lies with you as plaintiff. Organize and bring your evidence with you to trial. You 
must show the Court good and sufficient evidence proving your right to regain possession of 
the property. 
 
MOBILE HOME CASES: If you are seeking an eviction based on late rent payments for a MOBILE 
HOME LOT (tenant owns mobile home, you lease them the lot), you are required by law to give 
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the Tenant a ten-day NOTICE TO CURE before you can file an eviction (Sec. 94.206, Texas 
Property Code). Without the NOTICE TO CURE, your case will be dismissed. If they do not cure 
the problem after the ten-day notice, you then give them a three day NOTICE TO VACATE. Texas 
Law contains specific rules regarding Mobile Homes. You can locate this section through my 
website http://www.co.lubbock.tx.us. Look for USEFUL DOCUMENTS, then MOBILE HOME 
LAWS. 
 
Below is the section on Residential Evictions: 
https://gato-docs.its.txstate.edu/jcr:adf83ceb-ca76-462f-b5fe-2c41d70cbfab/Evictions%20Deskbook%20-%20Third%20Edition.pdf 
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