Lubbock County, Texas

State Of Texas - County Of Lubbock

Text Size: A | A | A

Real Property

Recording and Filing of Instruments 

Real Property Recording Fees

In terms of sheer volume, legal instruments constitute the major portion of paperwork flowing through the office and require the greatest amount of storage space. The complexity of the recording process itself, along with the volume of work and the many different types of instruments required to be filed in the clerk's office, places much responsibility on the clerk.
 

**Search Note**

 The County Clerk's office will not conduct searches over the phone. Search requests will be accepted for federal tax liens only. Requests must be in writing and delivered or mailed to the County Clerk along with the proper fee of $10.00 per name, per 10 years requested. A copy of the Driver's License is required with checks.

Requesting Copies from Real Property by Mail

To submit a request for copies from Real Property. Contact our office at 806-775-1062 with your document number or volume and page number to verify the cost for the copy you need.  We do not conduct searches for the existence of a document filing.

Send your request by mail to our office, include the document number or volume and page of the document needed. Copies are $1.00 per page plus an additional $5.00 for certification of each document, if requested. Payment by cashier's check or money order payable to Lubbock County Clerk. Personal checks require a clear copy of check writer’s driver’s license and contact phone numbers. Please include a SASE with your request.

All requests will be returned regular USPS, unless you choose to send a prepaid shipping envelope from an expedited service company. Be sure to check their pick up requirements or pick up fee charges as Lubbock County will not pay those fees.

Real Property records are public information, if you have a local contact, they are welcome to come into our office and get the copies for you. Our regular business hours are M-F 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. located at 904 Broadway, Room 207 in Lubbock.

 

Requesting Copies from Real Property Online and Payment by Credit Card

To submit a request for copies from Real Property and pay via credit card, contact our office at 806-775-1062 with your document number or volume and page number to verify copy cost for the document you need.  We do not conduct searches by name for the existence of a document. Be sure to indicate in the order, if the copy is to be certified.

To submit your request and payment by credit card using the following link.

We do not have the ability to take payments over the phone. 

 Click Here to Request Copies Online

Copies are $1.00 per page plus an additional $5.00 for certification, if requested.

Payments by credit card will incur an additional fee from the vendor of $2.50 or 2.95% whichever is greater. All requests will be returned regular USPS.

Requests received after 10:00 a.m. will be mailed the next business day.


Texas Legislature Discriminatory Provision

The Texas Legislature recently amended the Property Code to provide a streamlined procedure for addressing discriminatory provisions in real property records. Although state law already declared restrictions and provisions in real property records that prohibit the use, sale or transfer of real property to a person based on race, color, religion, or national origin to be void and unenforceable, Senate Bill 30, which took effect on September 1, 2021, establishes a  process for a property owner, or another person that the owner authorizes, to request a judicial  review of specific property records to  determine whether they contain prohibited discriminatory provisions. 

The bill sets out the contents of the documents required to be submitted to the court as well as a suggested format for the court’s findings and order. Under certain circumstances, the court may issue its determination without conducting a hearing. No filing fees may be charged under the statute. 

To view the language of the bill and the format for filing with the court as well as the format for the court’s findings and order, use the link: 87(R) SB 30 - Enrolled version (texas.gov)

In this Department

More Information